Uncategorized

Ghee

I never thought that I would be standing at my stove at 9:30 p.m. making my own ghee, but alas that is where I was last night.  When JW is gone, I find so many things to do here and there.  I get these crazy ideas and there is no one here to talk me out of it…

For those of you who don’t know what ghee is, it is clarified and caramelized butter used in Indian cooking.  It is renowned in Ayurveda as being one of the most important foods.  It is butter removed of the water and milk solids so it is really easy to digest.  Even those who can’t tolerate dairy can have it.  For more info, read this short article!

I tried to make ghee a few days ago as well.  I am not going to pretend that I got this on my first try.  I am also not going to think about the entire pound of butter I wasted that night when I burnt the shit out of it.  It was the expensive butter too…There are four things that I splurge on every time I buy them, eggs, butter, milk, and meat.  I want to make sure that the animals I decide to consume were raised responsibly and had a natural life.

So back to the ghee.  I found this article and decided that it was a better explanation than the one I had read previously.  So I melted my butter and watched it turn into a beautiful, caramelized treat right before my eyes.

photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

I even had some left over for a friend ( to repay her for the huge bag of fabric I got today…but that project will be for another post).  If you do try to make your own, just take your time and pay attention.  I guess it is supposed to be somewhat meditative…so keep the f bombs to a minimum when you burn yourself or ruin a batch.  Speaking from experience…

Leave a Reply

