Uncategorized

Homemade Chocolates

Two recipes in two days? Only because Italy is 80% food.

I love chocolate.  But I have to say that if you look at the ingredients lists on most chocolate brands, you will find many additives.  When you can find a good chocolate brand, it tends to be expensive.  Now, I am not saying that chocolate isn’t the perfect place to splurge in life, but sometimes I feel like being budget conscious.  I found a wonderful recipe for chocolate on Fork and Beans using only four ingredients: coconut oil, cacao powder, salt, and maple syrup (or honey).  The results are great and very versatile.  I have used it to make candies, chocolate sauce, and chocolate covered strawberries.

While we have been here in Italy, I have actually missed making this chocolate.  It used to be my little pick-me-up in the afternoon to have a piece and I love the coconut flavor.  Now, that is not to say that there is not EXCELLENT chocolate in Europe.  We have had some tasty ones from a few little shops here and there and I am positive we will find Paris a chocolate lovers heaven.  However, I decided last night that, because I have all of the ingredients, I would go ahead and make a batch. I found some really cute silicone molds here at a little gift shop.

I don’t want to take her recipe without giving her some blog traffic, so here is the link: Raw Chocolate Bars

And here is the evidence:

IMG_4116

 

4 thoughts on “Homemade Chocolates

  1. Sounds amazing! I’d like to say I’ll try to make them, but maybe we can convince you to show us how when you are in Evanston! Can’t wait to see you all.

Leave a Reply

