Uncategorized

Homeless

I have been missing from the online world for a few weeks, minus some small posts here and there and checking Facebook and email from time to time.  My children and I have been traveling in Indiana, Michigan, and now Illinois, buying our time until we go back to Italy next week.

Our condo is in the hands of our renters right now so we are technically “homeless” except we aren’t because we have a home…it is just thousands of miles away.  We thought we would be going back to Italy earlier than this, which is why we rented our place out.  Leave it to the Italian government to create chaos where there is none and give us difficulties with our visas.  When we signed up to go to Italy, we most definitely did not sign up for all of the troubles we have had.

At least we have had the chance to visit family and spend some quality time with people we usually don’t get to see.  We hung out with Grandma and my sister and her kids in Indiana, as well as cousins that we don’t get to see often enough.  Then, the kids and I hopped in the car and drove to Michigan to see Pap and Mimi (and more aunties and cousins) for a few days.  During that time, I had a rogue case of Strep throat (really?!), but thank goodness I was able to kick it quickly and neither of my children got sick…probably because they have had way worse of germs enter their tiny bodies when they do disgusting things like lick the airport floor (true story).

And now, after two and a half weeks of grandparents, I am trying to get my kids back into reality here in Chicago.  The only problem is that we are staying with friends so the reality part of it is still not reality for them.  Vance is having a perpetual sleepover for the next week, which he is very excited about.  And it doesn’t suck for me either, as I get to hang out with two of my favorite mom friends day in and day out.  It has been challenging, especially living out of a suitcase with two little ones, but this is what our life is right now and we have to accept it.

 

IMG_4755
Caroline loves her cousin Charlie!

IMG_4742

IMG_4737

I have to say that this has been one of the toughest experiences of my life, but I am so grateful for having a more positive point of view and the ability to make the best of it.  A few years ago, I never could have done this and not been drowning in an emotional whirlpool.  Having two children, however, has taught me to be more flexible and selfless than that and I am much better at coping with spontaneous situations. I guess yoga and meditation have done their part in helping me as well.  The little things don’t have the chance to become big things when you can focus on the positive in every situation and see what really matters.

I hope that wherever you are, you are enjoying the beginning of summer with people you love!

Leave a Reply

