Uncategorized

The post where I finally write a new blog post.

Wow, has it been over a month?  Was Venice really the last post I wrote?  

Needless to say, this past month has both flown by and crept along at a snail’s pace.  It is awesome to be home in Evanston.  Sometimes, it is a little surreal to think that a month ago we were across the ocean.  Oddly enough, I don’t really miss Italy all that much, but I think it is because it is summer in Chicago.  The BEST time of year in one of the BEST cities in the world.  I am sure my opinion will change once the first polar vortex hits and I am forced to stay indoors for days at a time with my two minions.  But for now…yay for living next to the beach!

I feel bad because I left people hanging in my last post.  And honestly I meant to write before this.  But I have been busy launching a Web site and starting my own business!  I am starting a new gig as a postpartum doula!  I know that may be anticlimactic for most people to read, but hey I am super excited about it.  I won’t bore you with factoids about how postpartum doulas can increase breastfeeding success rates (because they can), help a mother to recover quickly after the birth of her baby (because they do), and all that stuff.  BUT if you have any interest, you can check out my new site at http://www.rosecampbelldoula.com.  

I have loved working with babies, kids, families, and mothers my whole life so it doesn’t come as a surprise that this is where I landed.  I guess what comes as a surprise is that it took me THIS LONG to get there.  To figure out that this is what I was meant to do.  I think living in Italy helped to put things into perspective for me.  It feels good and I feel like I am in a really good place.  I am still working really hard to become certified and get my name out there in my community, but it will happen eventually.

  So anyways, that is what I have been up to.  OH, and going to the beach, cleaning crazy assed messes up in my house (Caroline has gone mad, I tell you), and getting Vance ready to start preschool (thank you Daniel Tiger). I have also been trying to figure out how to display our awesome pictures from Europe.  It is the end of summer and I am trying to enjoy each and every last drop of sunshine.  In the midwest, you never know when it will be your last warm day of outside play!

So yeah, I guess this is not as exciting as going to Venice, Paris, or Rome….BUT once you have been there, you know how good it feels to just. be. home.

Leave a Reply

