Uncategorized

Garden-sitting.

Some friends of ours are venturing to Nepal for the summer so we have found ourselves with a raised garden bed at our local community garden site.  It is a happy coincidence because I have always wanted to try my hand at gardening.  I love to cook and eat so it only comes naturally that I would love to grow food, too.

The kids and I drove over on a foggy, chilly morning this past week to weed and plant our first rows of cold weather crops.  We chose some staples and favorites in our house: carrots, beets, spinach, and kale.  Caroline and Vance were in charge of re-homing lost worms while I pulled out weeds that had made the garden their cozy home for the past winter months.

photo 1 photo 2 photo 4

The strawberry bushes were already coming up and the first seedlings should be peeking through within the next few days.  Hopefully I will have lots of pictures of bright, yummy, veggies to share this summer!

Leave a Reply

