Recipes

Paleo Zucchini Brownies

Honestly I don’t even have a picture for this recipe.  They are that good.  I could take a picture of a half empty brownie pan, but that wouldn’t probably look too great as far as food photography goes.  Let’s just say that I feel more satisfied with the brownies in my belly than as a picture on this blog anyways….

I found this recipe for Paleo Zucchini Brownies a few years ago through a friend who followed a strictly paleo diet.  She and her family actually introduced me to the paleo lifestyle and I am forever grateful because it really did help with some various health issues I was dealing with at the time.  My family and I eat everything in moderation although I stay away from gluten and refined sugar and my kids and husband generally don’t eat much of it either.  So we can’t call ourselves paleo but we tend to loosely follow that diet most of the time.

These brownies are amazing.  They are just the right amount of gooey chocolate-y goodness.  I actually prefer them to regular brownies.  And they are pretty darn healthy for you as far as desserts go (they DO include a vegetable and almond butter as the main ingredients after all).  They come from the popular blog Redeeming the Table, which also has some other kick ass recipes you can check out (The Blueberry Breakfast Crumb Cake is a favorite in our house as well).

So without further ado, here is the recipe that you should try out as soon as possible. (From Redeeming the Table)

Ingredients:
1 cup almond butter
1 zucchini finely shredded, I use the smaller grate on a cheese grater
⅓ cup unsweetened cocoa
¼ cup raw honey
½ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp sea salt
1 tsp vanilla
¾ cup chopped chocolate 72%, or semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 egg
⅓ cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease 8×8 pan with coconut oil.  Mix almond butter, shredded zucchini, honey, egg, baking soda, sea salt, vanilla, cocoa powder together until thoroughly combined.  Add chopped chocolate.  Pour into greased pan.  Bake for 28-30 minutes for fudgy brownies.

Cool on wire rack for 20 minutes before cutting into them.  (Don’t ask me if I have ever actually waited the full twenty minutes…)

 

Leave a Reply

